City Commission

Commission 2024

The Margate City Commission, the elected body that governs the City, comprises a Mayor, Vice Mayor, and three Commissioners. The City Commission appoints the City Manager, City Attorney, City Clerk, Police Chief, Fire Chief, Assistant City Manager, and City boards and committees members.

The Margate City Commission meets every first and third Wednesday of the month (except July and August) at 6:30 p.m. and 7 p.m., respectively. Meetings are held in the City Commission Chambers at City Hall, 5790 Margate Boulevard.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available before the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes



The City Commission is the legislative body of our government and is comprised of five members who are elected "at large" by the voters of Margate. That means they do not have to live in a certain district of the City. Our Commissioners serve a four-year term of office. Since 2012, City elections are held in the month of November, in conjunction with Broward County elections. 


Every November the five Commissioners elect from among themselves a Mayor and a Vice Mayor to serve a one-year term. The Mayor serves as the ceremonial head and as the Chairman of the City Commission for their meetings. Both the Mayor and Vice Mayor have full voting powers on the Commission.